Almond Milk vs. Skim Milk

After falling madly in love with almond milk, I wondered, is almond milk really better, or do I just like it more because of the taste? See, I don’t really like the taste of regular milk, nor how thin skim milk is. Even though I only drink the original unflavored original almond milk, I love the taste and the consistency. I haven’t taken a sip of skim milk since discovering my love for almond milk, but I still feel like I should compare the two before I completely eliminate skim milk from my diet.

I’ll compare the two milks based on many criteria, so you readers can decide for yourselves which criteria are most important to you personally. I won’t say if one is better than the other, but solely give you the facts so you can choose for yourself which things are most important to you.

I buy my milk at Wal-Mart, so all pricing is based on their store. I’ll compare Silk PureAlmond Milk with Wal-Mart’s skim milk. The criteria I’ll cover include taste, price, ingredients, nutrition, storage, versatility, and availability/convenience.

Price:

(for a half gallon)

  • Almond: $ 3.32
  • Skim: $1.98

That’s a difference of $1.34 per half gallon (which can add up quick depending on how much milk you go through).

Ingredients:

  • Almond: 7 (filtered water, almonds, sea salt, bean gum, sunflower lecithin, gellan gum, natural flavor)
  • Skim: 3 (nonfat milk, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D3)

Nutrition:

Almond

Almond Milk Label

Skim

Skim Milk Label

Almond milk has more calcium, fat, riboflavin, iron, vitamin E, vitamin B12, zinc, and magnesium than skim milk.

Skim milk has more protein, potassium, vitamin C, calories, sugar, and carbs than almond milk.

Almond and skim milk have the same amount of vitamin A and vitamin D.

Storage:

Almond milk stays fresh 7-10 days after opening.

Skim milk stays good until date on container (usually 2-3 weeks).

Versatility:

Both have same uses and can be used in recipes.

Availability/Convenience:

Almond milk is only found in grocery stores or health stores and there are no store brands at a cheaper price. You can occasionally find a coupon online.

Skim milk can be found in any grocery store, gas station, or convenience store and can be purchased at a lower-priced store brand in most cases. Skim milk also goes on sale more often than almond milk.

Choose your most important criteria to see whether almond milk or skim milk meets your needs best!

2 thoughts on “Almond Milk vs. Skim Milk

  1. Any almond milk I’ve gotten has lasted way longer than skim milk. It’s actually the main reason I switched. I live alone and would never get through a carton of skim milk before the expiration date so I threw most of it away. Almond milk costs a little more but I can finish the whole thing before it expires. I love it so much.

Leave a Comment!

