Monday Munchies: Clean Brownie Recipe

brownies

This week I’ve been craving brownies like crazy! Not only did I come up with a delicious, nutritious, totally clean, all natural, healthy, melt-in-your-mouth brownie recipe, but I also made 4 variations for you to try!

You can eat them plain (which tastes amazing! Even my sister liked them).

You can eat them with a peanut butter drizzle (my favorite way!). brownie with pb drizzle

You can eat them with sliced strawberries (for a fruity burst).

strawberry brownie

You can eat them with sliced nuts (I used almonds).

almond brownie

You can eat them with clean peanut butter frosting (it’s only two ingredients and tastes great!).

brownie with frosting

No matter how you like your brownies, I’ve got the perfect clean brownie recipe right here!

Ingredients:

(For 16 brownies)

  • 1 (15 oz.) can of black beans, drained & rinsed
  • 2 eggs
  • 2.5 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1/3 cup cocoa
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF.
  2. Put all ingredients in a food processor or blender and blend until completely smooth.
  3. Pour brownie mix into a greased 8×8 baking dish.
  4. Top with nuts if you’re making the nutty version.
  5. Bake for 25 minutes, until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Remove from oven and let cool for 30 minutes before cutting or they will fall apart.
  7. At this point, you can add your sliced strawberries, frosting (recipe below), or peanut butter drizzle.

Frosting:

Combine 1/4 cup all natural peanut butter (crunchy or smooth) with 1/4 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt. Stir until completely blended and a fluffy consistency is reached. Spread on top! Be sure to keep them in the fridge if you frost them.

I hope you like these as much as I did! They’re great to take to a cookout to share with friends or just keep them all to yourself as a special treat!

Eating clean isn’t about counting calories, but I just had to share my findings on this! One of these brownies has about 67 calories, if you cut them into 16 servings. The average brownie has about 243 calories! Not only are these clean and healthy, but they’ll also save you a ton of empty calories.

11 thoughts on “Monday Munchies: Clean Brownie Recipe

  1. So sad 😦 I just made these and I thought the batter tasted salty but I was eating at the time so I didn’t add more sweetener. Wish I gad bc they are salty and not good at all. The texture is good and I even used low sodium beans and rinsed them a lot.

    • I’ve never used coconut oil, but I just looked it up, and you can substitute it! 🙂 You can use the same amount as olive oil, but because coconut oil is solid at room temperature, you might have to melt it to make sure it blends in. Let me know how it turns out and how it tastes!!

  2. Just made these. I used virgin coconut oil and added 2 tsp stevia. The texture was great but I do think they need more sweetness. I’m going to retry with more honey or more stevia.

Leave a Comment!

