Monday Munchies: Clean Pecan Pie Balls Recipe

I made this recipe completely on accident! I had some dates I needed to use up, so I was going to make some pastry crust for mini fruit tarts. But when I got done making the date and nut “crust,” I tasted a little and realized I just made the most delicious accident in my life! There aren’t even pecans in this recipe, but I swear these little balls taste just like pecan pie! I could eat the whole batch in less than 10 minutes.

pecan pie balls

Ingredients:

(For 30 balls)

  • 1 cup dates
  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. raw honey
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Put dates in a small bowl and fill it with lukewarm water, covering all the dates.
  3. Let them soak for 30 minutes.
  4. Put almonds on a cookie sheet and bake them for 5-8 minutes (until they smell nutty), stirring them halfway.
  5. Remove almonds from oven and pour them on a plate to cool.
  6. After dates are done soaking, dump out the water and pit the dates.
  7. Once dates are all pitted and the almonds have mostly cooled, combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until the mixture has very small chunks and turns into a sticky dough.
  8. Roll mixture into 1″ balls and store them in the refrigerator. Unless you’d rather just eat all the dough with a spoon (it’s very tempting!).

And there you go! Pecan pie balls without any pecans! These are just as good (if not better) than my frozen cocoa peanut butter balls!

 

6 thoughts on “Monday Munchies: Clean Pecan Pie Balls Recipe

  1. Whaaaat? This is awesome. I love when happy accidents occur in the kitchen. Thanks for sharing, love your recipes and can’t wait to try them all!

Leave a Comment!

