My Top 5 Health Apps

health apps

I just entered the Smartphone world a few months ago, and my favorite thing about my phone is the ability for me to download apps. I have gone crazy on the app downloading! I have found tons of awesome apps dealing with health and fitness, but my favorites are those that help me with clean eating.  I have a Droid Razr M, so all of these apps are Android apps, and they are all FREE. Here are my top 5 favorite health apps!

Fooducate

This app is probably my all-time favorite. I have had it almost as long as I’ve had my phone, and I still love it.

This app lets you set up a profile with your nutritional goals. For example, if you want to lose weight, you can indicate you are interested in low-calorie foods. I am interested in clean eating, so I indicated I prefer to avoid processed foods.

After setting up a quick profile, all you have to do is scan the barcode on a product, and the app pulls up results for the food.

This app tells you:

  • An overall grade (ranging from A to D) based on your profile indications
  • A list of pros and cons about the food, shows you alternate options
  • The opportunity to share feedback with other users
  • The ability to you submit new products
  • Warnings of possible GMOs, sugar, trans fats, high fructose corn syrup, additives and preservatives, MSG-like ingredients, artificial sweeteners, and more.

Did I mention I love this app!? Check out Foodcate!

ChefTap

This recipe app is truly amazing. It has the ability to find recipes online and convert them into easy-to-read recipes on your phone! It even carries over the picture and the link from the website.

This app can:

  • Import recipes from any website or blog
  • Import an entire recipe box from Epicurious or allrecipes.com
  • Import an entire pin board from Pinterest (That’s right, the WHOLE board of recipes!!)
  • Scan bookmarks for recipes and import them

It only takes 3 taps on your phone to import recipes into ChefTap. I imported a bunch of my own recipes, and it works great! Even if it imports a wrong ingredient, direction, or title, it is easy to edit. Give ChefTap a try!

HealthTap

This app gives you health tips, answers from doctors, how-to’s, and suggestions about health and fitness topics.  It lets you set up a profile with basic information, and options to add detailed information, like symptoms, medical history, allergies, and insurance information. You can search by topic, ask a question, view health tips about your interests, look up symptoms, and much more! If you like random health facts, HealthTap is for you!

Allthecooks Recipes

This app allows you to search thousands of recipes. You can search by ingredient, category, and special diet recipes (vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, etc.).

With this app, you can:

  • Bookmark recipes
  • Share recipes by email, text, Twitter, Facebook, and others
  • Create and upload your very own recipes
  • Connect with friends to share recipes and build community
  • Save and share a shopping list
  • Join forums and discuss recipes with others with similar food tastes

Not only is this app great, but it also has a really cool avocado icon! Who doesn’t like avocado? Anyway, give Allthecooks a try!

Nutrition Facts

This is a very helpful app when you are curious about  the nutritional information of food you are eating. I’m still in college, so all of my meals come from the cafeteria. I don’t have access to nutritional information for the foods I’m eating, so this app really comes in handy!

This app is easy to use. All you have to do is search for the food you’re eating, select the result you want, and look at the information. You can choose what serving size you are eating, and see nutritional information including calories, fats, cholesterol, protein carbs, and more.

This app is a staple for everyone who cares about what goes into their bodies! It’s free, so why not try Nutrition Facts!?

I hope you’ll give at least a couple of these apps a try! Like I said, Fooducate is definitely my favorite, but the others are great too! While you’re downloading your apps, add me on Facebook and follow me on Twitter!!

8 thoughts on “My Top 5 Health Apps

  1. I’m curious to find out what blog platform you are working with?
    I’m having some minor security issues with my latest
    website and I would like to find something more safe.
    Do you have any solutions?

Leave a Comment!

