Clean Up Your Thanksgiving Menu

thanksgiving-dinner

Thanksgiving is just around the corner! Who’s excited for some food!? I know I am! If you read my post last week, you know that I don’t plan on eating very clean on Thanksgiving. I don’t think my grandma and extended family would go for a clean eating menu for our dinner, so I’ll be eating the regular traditional menu that day.

Once I have my own family and I’m in charge of planning Thanksgiving dinner, I’ll prepare the entire menu with clean foods only! I’m sure some of you plan on doing that this year, or maybe you just want to clean up a few recipes for dinner. Either way, I’ve compiled a collection of clean eating versions of all your Thanksgiving favorites!

Some of these recipes are ones I made myself, and some are from other clean eaters around the web.  I tried to account for almost all of the traditional foods at Thanksgiving dinner, with some substitutions or recommendations on how to clean them up if the recipes aren’t totally clean already.

Green Bean Casserole 

photo-5

Thank you zee lemons for this vegan green bean casserole recipe! It is clean except for the crispy, fried onions. But how could you eat green bean casserole without them!? Be sure to use olive oil and whole wheat flour.

Mashed Potatoes

mashed cauliflowerInstead of mashed potatoes, try this garlic mashed cauliflower instead! You’ll avoid the starchy potatoes and get an extra serving of veggies instead!

Sweet Potatoes

mashed potatoesI love this mashed sweet potatoes recipe! They taste so sweet, it’s almost like eating dessert, but it’s completely clean!

Rolls

roll16This whole wheat dinner roll recipe comes from An Oregon Cottage. Be sure to use either skim, unsweetened almond, or soy milk. You could also try substituting coconut oil or olive oil for butter, but I haven’t tried it myself.

Biscuits

biscuitsThis is my fluffy whole wheat biscuit recipe! The recipe is already 100% clean, so enjoy!

Cornbread

cornbreadI don’t usually eat cornbread on Thanksgiving, but I know some people do. If you’re one of those people, be sure to check out my clean cornbread recipe since it’s so healthy!

Corn Casserole

lighter-corn-casserole_thumb_3Thank you to Chocolate Covered Katie for this lightened-up corn casserole! It’s even gluten free. Use whole grain cornmeal if you can find it. Be sure to use all natural chicken broth, skim/unsweetened almond or soy milk, honey as a sweetener, nonfat Greek yogurt instead of tofu, and coconut oil for the buttery taste.

Deviled Eggs

90564642477118316ggnz2qhlcThis clean deviled eggs recipe comes from Build Lean Eat Clean! Be sure to use Greek yogurt like they recommend.

Coleslaw

coleslaw-1I found this healthy coleslaw recipe on PBS. It’s already 100% clean!

Stuffing

img_1903Thank you to Freeze Your Way Fit for this copycat Stove Top stuffing recipe! Be sure to use whole wheat bread. I’m excited to try this one!

Pumpkin Pie

IMG_0245This clean pumpkin pie recipe comes from Blogilates. She even has a video in case you don’t feel like reading. I love me some pumpkin pie!

Pecan Pie

clean-eating-pecan-pie-v-I also love pecan pie! I love any kind of pie actually. Anyway, this clean pecan pie recipe comes from The Gracious Pantry!

Apple Crisp

picture of apple crispI don’t usually eat apple crisp on Thanksgiving, but I might this year! I love my clean apple crisp recipe, so try it out!

I hope all of you have a happy, healthy Thanksgiving! Let me know in the comments what your favorite Thanksgiving food is!

8 thoughts on “Clean Up Your Thanksgiving Menu

  1. Eating clean on the holiday’s is definitely a challenge but there are lots of things we can do to try and minimize the amount of bad we ingest. You have some awesome recipe’s here! I’ll be bookmarking some for Christmas. I put together my tips together on my blog for when you can’t avoid the “unclean” dinner, how to at least better it. Thought you might be interested since they’re kinda related http://fromflabtofit.com/2013/10/20/taking-away-the-need-for-stretchy-pants-on-the-holidays/

Leave a Comment!

