Can I Flax for You??

IMG_20140119_111932_913

I love flexing, and I love flaxseed! So can I flax for you?

Flaxseed is amazing. I eat it every day, and I love it! It has tons of health benefits, it’s not very expensive, and it doesn’t go rotten. You’d think since it’s such a healthy whole food, it would be crazy expensive, go bad within a week, and be really difficult to find at the store, but that’s not the case!

I buy my flaxseed at Walmart for about $3 per bag, which lasts me months depending on how many recipes I make that call for flaxseed. I buy Bob’s Red Mill whole ground flaxseed meal. It’s certified gluten-free, has no preservatives, and has no chemical additives. Ok, enough about the product itself… 

Let’s talk about all those health benefits!

  • It can reduce your risk of heart disease, cancer, stroke, and diabetes. According to WebMD, flaxseed’s omega-3 essential fatty acids, lignans, and fiber are three components that make flaxseed so healthy.
  • It can reduce inflammation from illnesses. Again, WebMD says it can decrease inflammatory reactions caused by asthma attacks, plaque buildup in the arteries, and Parkinson’s disease.
  • It can cut hot flashes by half! This doesn’t really affect me yet, since I’m only 22, but menopausal women who ate 2 tablespoons of flaxseed each day for two weeks had half as many hot flashes as those who didn’t, says WebMD.
  • It has antioxidant benefits. According to The World’s Healthiest Foods, flaxseed is a good source of manganese, which wards off oxidative stress in the body.  Oxidative stress can initiate cancer, heart disease, Alzheimer’s disease, cataracts, diabetes, kidney disease, and arthritis, says The Atlantic.
  • It has been shown to increase HDL (good) cholesterol and regulate blood pressure, according to The World’s Healthiest Foods.
  • It can reduce your risk of breast cancer, prostate cancer, and colon cancer. The World’s Healthiest Foods explains that this is due to the high lignan content in flaxseed.
  • It is a great source of fiber. One serving of 2 tablespoons has 4 grams of fiber; that’s 16% of your daily value just from 2 little tablespoons of flaxseed!

Now, you’re probably thinking, “Ok so this flaxseed stuff is good for me, but how the heck do I eat it?” There are lots of ways to eat it, and there are TONS of recipes online. You can add it to almost anything. The bag says it has a nutty flavor and great taste, but I’ve never noticed it having a taste. Even when I put a lot of it in my oatmeal, I can’t taste it, so feel free to mix it in almost anything.

Here are some common ways to use it:

  • Stir it in your oatmeal, yogurt, pudding, cereal, spaghetti sauce, or soup.
  • Add it to your casseroles, meatloaf, baked goods, meatballs, and smoothies.
  • Add it to your pancake or waffle batter, cookie dough, muffin batter or bread dough.
  • Sprinkle it on your peanut butter and jelly sandwich, pizza, toast, or tacos.
  • Substitute it for an egg. Simply mix 1 tablespoon of flaxseed meal with 3 tablespoons of water and let it sit for a couple minutes. Then, just use it like you would use an egg!
  • Choose ground flaxseed instead of whole flaxseed. If you eat them whole, they will pass through your digestive system whole, so you won’t get the maximum health benefits.
  • Store it in the fridge or freezer to keep it fresh and maintain all of its health benefits.

So, tell me in the comments below, what’s your favorite way to eat flaxseed?

Related Articles:

4 thoughts on “Can I Flax for You??

Leave a Comment!

