Clean Sour Cream & Onion Potato Chips Recipe

IMG_20140202_084918_300

Healthy potato chips!? Yes, it’s possible!! Thanks to my amazing boyfriend, I got a food dehydrator for Christmas. He got me a Waring Pro Food Dehydrator, and I’ve been trying recipes with it for about a month now. This is the first chip recipe I’ve tried, and it actually worked pretty well!

I found this Sour Cream & Onion Chips recipe from Emily at JoyfulAbode.com, and adapted it slightly to make it perfect for clean eating. Thank you so much, Emily! Her blog has tons of recipes, so be sure to check it out!

This recipe made a pretty large batch. I got five trays of chips in my dehydrator, and I even had leftover potato paste. I ate it like mashed potatoes, and it was so delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 2 large russet potatoes
  • 1/2 cup 2% (reduced fat) plain greek yogurt
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 2 Tbs. dried parsley
  • 2 Tbs. onion powder
  • 1 Tbs. salt (more or less to taste)

You will also need:

  • Food dehydrator
  • Nonstick dehydrator mats or PARCHMENT paper cut to size (Do NOT use waxed paper; it will stick to the chips)

Directions:

  1. Cook the potatoes any way you like. I poked mine several times with a fork and microwaved them for about 12 minutes.
  2. Let the potatoes cool enough to peel them, and remove the skin. (I would like to try this again, but leave the skin on to add more fiber, but I’m not sure how it would work.)
  3. Cut or break the potatoes into chunks and combine all ingredients in a food processor. If you have a small food processor (like I do), you might have to do separate batches. I had to do three small batches and then stir it all together by hand in a large mixing bowl.
  4. Puree all the ingredients until it turns into a potato paste. If it’s too thick, add a little more water.
  5. Using a spoon or rubber spatula, spread the potato paste onto the nonstick mats or parchment paper. Spread it pretty thin, but don’t make any holes. It is pretty hard to spread it thin enough without making it see-through, so next time I make these I will spread it a little thicker.
  6. Dehydrate your chips at 145° or medium setting until they are crispy and dry. Mine took about 8 hours total. Every couple hours, check them and rearrange the order of the trays (the bottom trays tend to dry out faster). After about 6 hours, I flipped the big sheets of chips so the wet side was up. The thicker your chips are, the longer it will take for them to dry completely.
  7. Once all the sheets are dry and crispy, break the big chips into smaller pieces.
  8. Store in an air-tight container. (Emily says they will keep for a couple days, but they taste best fresh)

Enjoy!! These don’t taste like store-bought chips, but they do taste good! Remember, your chips don’t have any nasty preservatives, additives, monosodium glutamate (MSG), or artificial flavors. These are all natural, healthy, and perfect for clean eating!

I plan on trying different chip flavors in the future. What kind should I try next? Let me know in the comments!

Related Posts:

4 thoughts on “Clean Sour Cream & Onion Potato Chips Recipe

Leave a Comment!

