There is NO such thing as PERFECT

capture-20140603-220139

Read that title again. Memorize it. Repeat it. This is what I tell myself multiple times per day so I don’t drive myself completely crazy trying to be something I’m not.

Lately, I’ve been struggling to remember that there is no such thing as perfect. No one is perfect. Nothing is perfect. It’s our so-called “imperfections” that make us truly beautiful. Don’t let anyone ever convince you that you need to be perfect, because it simply doesn’t exist. We are all perfectly imperfect.

So why have I been struggling to remember that there is no such thing as perfect? Well, after making the switch from clean eating to healthy eating, I relaxed a bit on my healthy eating and my exercising. I took a couple weeks off from working out, and I treated myself more often than I normally do. I spent more time relaxing and watching tv, and I napped more often. I was in need of some stress relief, so I relaxed for a while.

Well, obviously, when you spend hours each day watching Netflix and taking naps, you’re bound to put on a few pounds… especially if you just started re-introducing foods into your diet that you haven’t eaten in a while (for me, it was cheese, milk, cereal, and bread). So, I gained a few pounds. Nothing serious. My jeans fit a bit snug, and my shorts are too tight. But it really got me concerned – way more than it should have.

At first, I was all upset, and I wanted to go back on a strict eat clean diet and exercise it all off. But then, I realized that I’ve been happier, more relaxed, and less stressed now that I’ve been less strict with my dieting and exercising. I tried to remind myself that moderation is key to a healthy lifestyle. And then, I reminded myself that there is no such thing as perfect.

There is no perfect body type. Even though society and the media pressure us to have a “perfect” body and “perfect” appearance, there isn’t one specific body type that is desirable for everyone. We are all different, and we all should embrace our unique bodies!

There is no perfect personality. I try to get along with everyone and be nice to everyone, but no matter what, there will always be people who don’t like me. And that’s totally fine. No one’s personality can be compatible with everyone.

There is no perfect diet. No matter what, you can’t eat a perfect diet without driving yourself insane. Try going even a week without one so-called “cheat” food. No salad dressing, no store-bought bread, no mints, no cheese… can you imagine??

I’m not perfect. You’re not perfect. Your best friend isn’t perfect. Your significant other is not perfect. Your family isn’t perfect. But does that make you love those people any less? No? Exactly! So they love you the same whether or not you’re perfect. (Which is good, because none of us can be perfect!)

So, keep this in mind: there is NO such thing as perfect. Don’t go trying to make yourself perfect; just surround yourself with people who already think you are.

 

2 thoughts on “There is NO such thing as PERFECT

Leave a Comment!

