Say NO to Osteo…porosis

OSTEO

I few days ago, I was contacted by a woman who asked me if I would help spread awareness about osteoporosis because it affects over half of the total U.S. adult population. Of course, I was very willing to help. I like to do anything I can do to help my readers stay healthy! After researching more about osteoporosis, I became concerned that I, like many of you reading this, could be at risk for this disease.

Again, I want to reiterate, that I am always willing to help raise awareness about diseases and other health issues. Just leave me a comment, a Facebook message, a tweet, or send me a direct email. I will do whatever I can to help all my readers stay healthy! Now, back to the reason we’re here. The following information comes from the National Osteoporosis Foundation and the American Recall Center.

What is osteoporosis?

It is a bone disease that makes bones brittle, weak, and porous with low bone density. It can cause broken bones, especially in the hip, wrist, and spine. (For more interesting information about hip fractures and replacement, click here.) It can lead to chronic bone pain, height loss, and poor posture. There aren’t really symptoms of osteoporosis because it sneaks up on you without warning.

How common is osteoporosis?

Osteoporosis is extremely common. Statistics say that one in two women and one in four men (age 50 and older) will break a bone because of osteoporosis. Sound scary? Just keep reading.

Here is a direct quote from the National Osteoporosis Foundation: “A woman’s risk of breaking a hip due to osteoporosis is equal to her risk of breast, ovarian and uterine cancer combined. And a man age 50 or older is more likely to break a bone due to osteoporosis than he is to get prostate cancer.”

See that? All these years, doctors, media, and other people have warned us about these types of cancers. I don’t know about you, but no one has ever brought up osteoporosis, and it is even more common.

What puts us at risk for osteoporosis?

Some things you can’t control that can put you at an increased risk for osteoporosis:

  • being a female
  • being age 50 or older
  • having a family history of osteoporosis
  • going through menopause
  • having a low body weight or being small and thin
  • having certain health issues (click here to see the list)

There are risk factors you can control, however:

  • not getting enough calcium and vitamin D
  • not eating enough fruits and vegetables
  • drinking too much alcohol
  • smoking, losing weight
  • eating too much protein, caffeine, and sodium
  • not getting enough exercise
  • taking certain medications (click here to see the list)

What can we do to decrease our risk of osteoporosis?

Eat foods that promote bone health:

  • milk (dairy, soy, almond)
  • yogurt
  • cheese
  • vegetables
  • fish
  • fruits
  • calcium-fortified foods (cereal, bread, juice)

Do exercises for strong bones:

  • high-impact weight-bearing exercise (dancing, running, tennis, jumping)
  • low-impact weight-bearing exercise (speed walking, elliptical, stair-stepper)
  • strength training (weight lifting, resistance bands)
  • balance exercises (yoga, Tai Chi)

And to finish off this post, I will include some of my recipes that have bone-strengthening foods!

Please raise awareness and spread the word about osteoporosis!

Leave a Comment!

